New leader and cabinet announced for Tamworth Borough Council

Councillor Carol Dean appointed as new leader of the council Councillor Dave Foster appointed as Deputy leader of the council New responsibilities and portfolios announced

At Full Council on 21 May, the new Labour council announced the Leader of the Council, Councillor Carol Dean and the new Labour Cabinet.

The announcement follows local election results on 2 May, confirming Labour candidates elected for nine of the ten councillor wards, meaning that Tamworth Borough Council is now made up of 18 Labour councillors, eight Conservative councillors and four Independent councillors.

Councillor Carol Dean is Leader of the Council, while Councillor Dave Foster takes the position of Deputy Leader. 

Commenting on the changes, Councillor Dean, said: “We’re delighted to announce our new Labour cabinet portfolios. I would like to thank the people of Tamworth who have put their trust in us. I feel honoured to serve our town.

“Tamworth people want change, and we will be putting the needs and views of the people at the heart of everything we do.”

The new leader and cabinet changes are made up of the following roles and responsibilities within portfolios:


Councillor Carol Dean: Leader and operations, finance and cost of living
Councillor Dave Foster: Deputy Leader and environmental sustainability, waste and recycling

Councillor Ben Clarke: housing, homelessness and planning
Councillor Nova Arkney: infrastructure, heritage and local economy
Councillor Sarah Daniels: co-operative council, community partnerships and antisocial behaviour

Councillor Lewis Smith: people services, engagement and leisure


Chair for each committee is as follows:

Councillor Chris Bain: health and wellbeing scrutiny

Councillor Samuel Smith: corporate scrutiny

Councillor Lee Wood: planning

Councillor Ben Price: licencing

Councillor Andy Wells: nominations

Councillor Margaret Clarke: statutory officer conduct

Councillor Carol Dean: appointments and staffing

Councillor Craig Adams: audit and governance

Councillor Marion Couchman: infrastructure, safety and growth scrutiny

Councillor Dave Foster: chief officer conduct

The full membership of all committees will be available to view online soon at

The new Mayor of Tamworth was also announced as Councillor Gareth Coates, and Deputy Mayor as Councillor Chris Bain.

More from Local News


Add a comment

Log in to the club or enter your details below.
On Air Now The Gorgeous Playlist 1:00pm - 4:00pm
Now Playing
Believe Cher Download
Recently Played